The Schengen States

The Schengen states are an association of 27 countries that have agreed upon freedom of movement between these members. A common visa regulation is also part of this agreement.

List of Schengen States

  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Greece
  • Iceland (non-EU)
  • Italy
  • Croatia
  • Latvia
  • Lichtenstein (non-EU)
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway (non-EU)
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland (non-EU)
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Czech Republic
  • Hungary

Where does the Schengen visa apply?

The Schengen area consists of 27 countries. Of these, 23 are part of the EU. In addition, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland have joined the Schengen Agreement. Only the three European countries of Great Britain, Ireland and Cyprus are not part of the agreement.

Schengen citizens can cross common borders without identity checks. If your visa was issued with validity for all Schengen states, this regulation also applies to you.

Good to Know

Some states have not joined the Schengen Agreement, but are partially applying its regulations:


In 1985, for the first time, five EU Member States decided to abolish controls on their common borders to facilitate better trade. The Schengen Agreement includes a single set of Schengen freedom of movement rules: police controls at internal borders (i.e., at the borders between two Schengen countries) have been abolished and a common approach to external border controls has been established.

There is a uniform visa regulation for entry into the Schengen area. Without a valid permission to stay, entry is generally not possible. The common visa regulation determines the conditions for obtaining a visa.

In addition to these travel provisions, member countries have committed themselves to stepping up action against transnational crime and terrorism. Thus, police officers can also track individuals involved in serious crime across the internal borders.

Meanwhile, almost all EU countries have joined the Schengen Agreement. Several neighbouring non-EU states have also joined the group.

Current developments

These countries are also expected to be part of the Schengen area soon:

This might also be of interest

These types of Schengen visas are available

Depending on the purpose of the trip, there are different requirements for the permission to stay (e.g., duration or other authorizations). There are three categories of the Schengen visa (A, C, D).


How to apply for a visa

Are you planning a stay in the Schengen area? We explain which documents you need and what you should consider when applying for a visa.


The cost of a Schengen visa

The cost of a Schengen visa varies depending on the type of visa and personal circumstances. The fee is due upon application and is non-refundable.


Health insurance for a Schengen visa

In case of unexpected illness or an accident, a health insurance policy protects you from incalculably high medical costs.

Learn more